Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai ~ Thank you for the smiles and tears.

This one blew me away. From the first episode I knew I’d found a good one. “Bring on the tears” I said to myself, and sure enough they came. It’s been a while since I’ve seen an anime with such well-developed characters, such a well-designed plot, and such a satisfying ending. I feel so emotional having just watched it all, but I feel really great too. The heart of this story was beautiful, and while the amount of raw emotion displayed by the characters was intense, it wasn’t off-putting, I really felt like I was shouldering their pains myself, the characters were very relatable. It just felt so real… And even with all of the drama, the series carried a real sense of mystery to it that kept me guessing til the end, like a good puzzle. And the music was top-notch too, the OP and ED have found their way into my regular listening already. It was funny, charming, thought-provoking, tear-jerking… Everything a good anime ought to be. This is a masterpiece that may not get too much attention, but it deserves all the praise it gets. In my eyes, it’s flawless.

Thank you, Anohana. You were really amazing.

And a special thanks to Unlimited Translation Works for providing it to me! I should credit subbers more often.

About Aspirety

Australian J-geek with a passion for Gaming and Writing. Psychology student, Nintendo/Key/Ryukishi07 fan.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae o Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai ~ Thank you for the smiles and tears.

  1. tomphile says:

    I wouldn’t say I was blown away, but I was definitely moved and happy that this anime existed.

  2. Asperity says:

    It’s not the best anime I’ve ever seen, but there’s nothing wrong with it either. It’s just a great piece of art.

  3. feal87 says:

    As tomphile already said, I was moved by this series, but still maybe the drama was a little over exaggerated in the last episode…

    • Asperity says:

      I can see what you mean, throughout the series were many dramatic moments that got extremely close to over-the-top, but for some reason it still managed to work for me. I dont think they could have pulled off the ending in a better way if they tried.

Leave a Reply

