My Letter to Key – Key 15th Anniversary Letter Project

Mio's Reflection

Dear Key.

I write to you today to join many others around the world in expressing our love for your work. I first came into contact through your stories through the Clannad Anime, and have since experienced a broad number of your works. The Kanon 2006 Anime, the Air Anime, the Clannad Game and Anime, the Little Busters game and Anime, the Angel Beats Anime, Planetarian, and most recently Rewrite. When I first watched Clannad, I instantly fell in love with your stories. They offered something special to me that none of the other Anime or games I’d played have offered. Deep, emotional fulfilment, and characters you genuinely grow attached to. Your stories paint a picture of a very real world with very real issues through which the beauty of humanity can shine and overcome any hardship. The solutions may sometimes be fantastical, but they never disappoint in their delivery.

Your stories have impacted my life many times. Little Busters helped me understand the warmth and comfort of being a part of a genuine group of friends, while putting me through the turmoil of leaving the safety of that group to brave the painful reality. But even so, as many of your stories have taught me, having our friends and family supporting us, pushing us forward, will enable us to do extraordinary things we couldn’t do alone. Rewrite helped me analyse myself as an individual, finding my place in the world and the significance of my bonds with others, and what they mean to me. It helped me analyse the depth of human relationships which people often take for granted. These are just some of the profound messages I’ve gained from reading your stories.

I love your works so much, they hold a special place in my heart. I’m always recommending your works to my friends and family, and often they’ll fall in love with your characters and stories as well. I never play Key games for the erotic content – I actually go out of my way to avoid the 18+ games. I play for the emotional fulfilment. To borrow the words of Nishizono Mio, I read your stories to rebel against the fact that I only live once; to experience the lives of another and gain something from that experience. Not many stories can compare to the precious memories I’ve gained from the likes of Clannad, Little Busters and Rewrite. After finishing Little Busters, I cried harder than I’ve ever cried in my adult life. The tears just wouldn’t stop. It’s something special, and I want as many people to know of your masterpieces as I can. But often it’s very hard to purchase the games here in Australia, so usually we’re limited to the Anime adaptations. But I know there are so many people around the world who will love your games; they just need to find you.

You have no idea how happy I was when I found out that Planetarian was released on iOS in English. It was the first time one of your games had been released in English, and I immediately got to work in telling everybody I knew about it and that they should buy it. Hoping for an Android release for people like me someday too! This news revealed to me the possibility that maybe someday, I would be able to play Little Busters, Clannad or Rewrite in English in my own country. It’s a bit of a distant dream, but I’m sure if that happened, so many more people would come to love not only your works, but all the different and amazing Visual Novels that remain exclusive to the Japanese market. I don’t mean to tell you what to do, but merely to inform you that there is demand for English releases of your games all around the world, and that it could lead to great things for the industry. Who knows, maybe muscle really will take over the world!

I really hope at least someone out there in Key takes the time to read over this letter. I’ve put my heart and soul into these words in the hopes that one of you out there will hear us. We as your fans will continue to support you in the little ways we can, and perhaps with time, our numbers will grow even larger. We all anxiously await the next story you bring to the world; hopeful that it will find it’s place among the growing number of incredible stories you’ve released thus far. Thank you so much Key for the years worth of tears and smiles you’ve brought us all; our lives wouldn’t be the same without you.

Your fans exist all around the world – a daikazoku of Key fans across the globe – and we just want you to know it! Don’t forget us, because we will never, ever forget you.

Loyally yours,
Ben Hueppauff – Aspirety.

The Key 15th Anniversary Letter Project is a global effort to show Key that it has fans from all around the world. If you would like to submit a letter or piece of fanart, they are still accepting submissions for little bit longer! Visit http://key15th.com/ to find out more.

About Aspirety

Australian J-geek with a passion for Gaming and Writing. Psychology student, Nintendo/Key/Ryukishi07 fan.
This entry was posted in On The Chessboard and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

